Awarded Films | Film Festival One World
OW at Facebook OW at Twitter OW at YouTube OW at Instagram

Awarded Films

The Grand Jury awarded The Best Film Award, The Best Director Award, and two Special Mentions in the Main Competition. The jury was selecting from 12 documentary films.

The Best Film Award: Judgment in Hungary

directed by Eszter Hajdú, Hungary / 2013 / 107 min.

“Set in a claustrophobic court-room, as 4 neo-Nazis stand trial for murder, this film bears witness to a riveting, and striking examination of an entire society. Small details are revealed through cinema verité: the judge’s treatment of witnesses and survivors from the Romany community; the relationship between prison guards and the accused, subtle smiles of the lawyers, and the empty seats of courtroom,” stands in the jury statement.


The Best Director Award: Forest of the Dancing Spirits

directed by Linda Västrik, Sweden, Canada / 2013 / 104 min.

„The jury honors a director who did her own camerawork, and created a highly poetic, layered and sensitive film. This director spent seven years working collaboratively with a remote forest community, and she transcends the political constraints of ethnographic film, to bring us an intimate yet universal story of birth and death with great humanity,” said the jury.



The Grand Jury – A Special Mention: The Blocher Experience

directed by Jean-Stéphane Bron, Switzerland, France / 2013 / 100 min.

“The film shows how easy it is to fan the flames of racism with fear in order to gain political power and fulfilling personal ambitions of an individual who is capable of doing anything. It shows what consequences it can have even in a country full of prosperity as Switzerland, not forgetting the influence that far right politicians are having on the demise of democracy across Europe,” reads the jury statement.


The Grand Jury – A Special Mention: Stop-Over

directed by Kaveh Bakhtiari, France / 2013 / 100 min.

„The characters of this film suffer from direct consequences of the behavior of people like Blocher and must face life situations that are inhuman and degrading,“ explained the jury.

The Václav Havel Jury awards the prize to a film that makes an exceptional contribution to the defense of human rights. They also decided to award a Special Mention. The jury was selecting from 12 documentaries featured in the Right To Know category.

The Václav Havel Jury Award: Miners Shot Down

directed by Rehad Desai, South Africa / 2014 / 85 min.

“Using testimonies, live and archive footage of the tragic unfolding events the filmmaker tells the story through powerful images of miners' protest and the police response. The film manages to operate on a number of levels: it tells the tale of both individual struggle and tragedy, but also of the reality of life in the Rainbow nation, nearly 20 years after the end of apartheid, where old racial divisions are replaced or translated into dividing lines between rich and poor. The filmmaker leaves no stone unturned in documenting the existence of slavery and rampant capitalism which is corrupting the states' elites and undermining basic right,” explains the jury statement.


The Václav Havel Jury – A Special Mention: No Fire Zone: The Killing Fields of Sri Lanka

directed by Callum Macrae, Great Britain / 2013 / 93 min.

“This is a documentary that needs to be seen, not only because it allows personal tragedies to be told but also because it documents serious war crimes and violations of international humanitarian law by the Sri Lankan government,” said the jury.


The Czech Radio Jury awards the innovative use of music and sound in the documentaries.

The Czech Radio Jury Award: Forest of the Dancing Spirits

directed by Linda Västrik (Sweden, Canada / 2013 / 104 min. 

“The jury in particular recognizes the outstanding quality of the film’s natural sound and its meticulous audio postproduction, and considers the technical and artistic quality of the resulting material to be excellent. The jury also positively assesses the professionally mastered real sound environment,” said the jury.

Student Jury selects from a school film collection. Its members are mainly high school students and organizers of the Student film clubs of One World at Schools project.

The Student Jury Award: Viva Cuba Libre: Rap is War

directed by Jesse Acevedo, Cuba, USA / 2013 / 60 min.

“The film shows the true face of this country, as well as the courage of the young people living there. The oft-condemned musical style of rap is given a new face – it is presented as a weapon against injustice. We believe that this film has the ability to remind our peers that we can be grateful for the freedoms we enjoy in our country,” stated the jury.


Avast Foundation Audience Award: The Crash Reel

Lucy Walker / USA / 2013 / 107 min.




Programme & Films


OW at Facebook